Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Artificial gold leafing

Artificial gold leafing 27 Jan 2016 10:25 #1

• Steve Waldroop
  • Fresh Carver
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello, I am new to the forum. My work primarily has to do with routed natural wood signs. I've been routing for about 35 years.
The question I have is that I would like to do some letter gilding. I've never dealt with it but currently doing a big job on cypress wood blank that has been stained with minwax.
I understand they make an oil based primer? I stain for two reasons, to protect wood and to apply enamel paint on my lettering. Anyway would love some input
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jason Jones

Artificial gold leafing 27 Jan 2016 18:49 #2

• Jason Jones
  • Admin
  • Floors & Latrine
  • Thank you received: 33
Wish I could help, but we're about to tackle our first big gild job here. I know there are at least a few guys around that know what they are doing though,,,

Artificial gold leafing 28 Jan 2016 05:17 #3

• Steve Waldroop
  • Fresh Carver
Appreciate your response

Artificial gold leafing 28 Jan 2016 07:45 #4

• Phillip Newell
  • Gold Carver
  • Thank you received: 12
  • Honor Medal 2015
Hey Steve

I'm by no means an expert, I'm just getting started using leaf as well, but I'll try to help.

I'm assuming when you say primer, you're referring to size, the adhesive used for the leaf? If so, yes, it absolutely comes in oil based.

You can get everything you need here: www.wbgoldleaf.com/

I will say, I've played with artificial leaf, and wasn't thrilled with it. From what I hear, the real stuff is easier to work with, and just looks better in the end.
Phillip Newell

Freelance Sign Design
[url=http://www.signamigo.com:1t2xqp19]www.signamigo.com[/url]

www.facebook.com/amigosignco

Artificial gold leafing 28 Jan 2016 08:01 #5

• Bob Stephens
  • Gold Carver
  • Thank you received: 50
  • Honor Medal 2015